What Constitutes a Disorderly Conduct Charge in Illinois?

 Posted on October 27,2021 in Uncategorized

Being charged with disorderly conduct can be a frightening experience. Unless you have had prior contact with the criminal justice system, you probably do not know what you should expect. Disorderly conduct can be charged as either a misdemeanor charge or a felony charge, depending on the situation and what the actual act of disorderly conduct was. If you have been accused of disorderly conduct, an Illinois criminal defense attorney can help you navigate the situation.

What is Disorderly Conduct?

In the state of Illinois, disorderly conduct is a rather vague crime. Instead of having a specific situation or set of actions outlined in the disorderly conduct law, the law is written to allow judges to determine what they believe to be disorderly conduct.

The disorderly conduct statute contains 12 situations in which a person could be charged with disorderly conduct. The first and most common way a person can be charged with disorderly conduct is by alarming or disturbing other people and provoking a breach of the peace. Other situations in which a person could be charged with disorderly conduct include:

  • Relaying a false report of fire to a fire department
  • Reporting a bomb threat when there is no bomb
  • Relaying a threat of violence, death or harm to people inside of a school or to the school itself
  • Reporting a crime to police that did not take place
  • Conveying a false report to a public safety agency
  • Calling 911 or other emergency personnel when there is no emergency situation present
  • Submitting false reports to the Department of Children and Family Services
  • Making false allegations of abuse at mental health facilities or nursing homes
  • Asking for an ambulance when there is no need for one
  • Looking through somebody else’s window for lewd or unlawful purposes
  • Making a phone call to a debtor that is intended to harass, annoy or intimidate the debtor

Penalties for Disorderly Conduct

Disorderly conduct charges can range from a Class C misdemeanor to a Class 3 felony, depending on what you actually did. For example, if you are charged with disorderly conduct for simply "disturbing the peace," you will be charged with a Class C misdemeanor, which could result in up to 30 days in jail and up to $1,500 in fines.

Contact a Cook County Disorderly Conduct Defense Attorney for More Information

If you have been accused of committing disorderly conduct, you should speak with an Orland Park, IL, disorderly conduct defense lawyer right away. At the Fotopoulos Law Office, we can help you understand why you are being charged with disorderly conduct and how you can defend yourself against those charges. To schedule a free consultation, call our office today at 708-942-8400.


Illinois Compiled Statutes

Share this post:
badge badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top