5 Steps to Take When You are Injured on the Job in Illinois

 Posted on December 10, 2022 in Uncategorized

Though some occupations may have higher injury rates than others, you can get hurt at work no matter what industry you work in. Workers’ compensation cases can be difficult and tedious, but it is important to note that the first 24 hours or so after your workplace injury are crucial. Taking the correct actions after being injured at work can make for a stronger workers’ compensation case, while taking the wrong actions could mean no case at all. Here are five things you should do after a work injury in Illinois:

1. Inform Your Employer About Your Injury

The Illinois Workers’ Compensation Act states that you should notify your employer about your injury as soon as possible. You are permitted to notify your employer orally or in writing, but writing is typically better, because you then have hard evidence that you notified your employer of your injury. The notice should contain information about your injury and the time and place where it was sustained. A general rule of thumb is that you should notify your employer about your injuries no later than 45 days after the incident.

2. Seek Medical Attention as Soon as Possible

Before you go to the doctor, try to contact your employer’s human resources department to inquire about any limitations the workers’ compensation insurance may have. Typically, you can choose which medical provider you can see, but your employer may have limitations. If your employer has a preferred provider program (PPP), you have the choice of two providers within the PPP. If your employer does not have a PPP, you have a choice of any two medical providers.

3. Inform Your Doctor About the Circumstances of the Injury

When you do seek medical attention, make sure the doctor knows that the injury you are being seen for occurred while you were at work. Once you tell them this, they should send any and all correspondence about billing directly to your employer for payment.

4. Ensure Your Employer Submits a Report

Your employer is also required to submit a workers’ compensation report to the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission. The report should contain your personal information and information about the accident, including when and where the accident took place, what you were doing at the time of the accident, how the accident occurred, and the injuries you sustained because of the accident.

5. Seek Help From a Cook County Workers’ Comp Lawyer

In Illinois, almost all employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance, which covers medical care and compensation for disability. Obtaining workers’ compensation should not have to be difficult. If you are having trouble getting your work injuries to be covered under your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance, contact an Orland Park workers’ compensation attorney to discuss your options. At the Fotopoulos Law Office, we will review your case with you and help you get the compensation that you deserve. Call our office today at 708-942-8400 to schedule a free consultation.


Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission

What to Do if You’re Injured at Work

Share this post:
badge badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top